Beautiful Music & Ugly Album Art

I’m a fan of Thomas Tallis, and have listened to his music for years. Some time ago, I went to purchase an album of Tallis music by the Tallis Scholars called Spem in Alium, which is a beautiful song that reads in English as follows:

I have never put my hope in any other

but in You, O God of Israel

who can show both anger and graciousness,

and who absolves all the sins

of suffering man

Lord God, Creator of Heaven and Earth

be mindful of our lowliness

At some point after I purchased the song from iTunes, the album artwork in my computer browser started showing up with an ad promoting a wicked movie called Fifty Shades of Gray.

What a tragic contrast! Such beautiful and godly poetry, skillfully written, being put to use in such a base and grotesque way. What’s even more irritating is that I had to look at that sticker promo every time I listened to the music.

Turns out in order to kill the artwork and replace it with the original without the little p*rn promo, I had to go to Amazon’s UK version of their website, and take a screen shot there. Then I had to check “info” in my iTunes program and ask it to add the new album artwork.

In the grand scheme of things, of course, this is nothing more than a minor nuisance for me. But it does shed a sobering light on what increasingly passes for normal in an increasingly abnormal society.

May God have mercy; be mindful of our lowliness.

 

 

